Garo Hills at a Glance

North Garo Hills

The district of North Garo Hills forms the Northern most part of Garo Hills. It is the gateway to the entire Garo Hills region and shares a border with Assam. The population is a mixture of indigenous Garo tribes alongwith other minor tribes comprising of Rabhas, Hajongs, Kacharis, Boros. The climate is sub tropical with adequate rainfall. The people are an ethnic mix of Indo-Burmese-Tibetan ancestry.

West Garo Hills

West Garo Hills is one of the largest district of Meghalaya located in the western part of the State. The Garo Hills district was divided into two districts, viz. the West Garo Hills district and the East Garo Hills district in October 1976. The erstwhile West Garo Hills district was further divided into two administrative districts of West and South Garo Hills on June 1992. The district headquarters of West Garo Hills is Tura, which is the second largest town in the State after Shillong.

East Garo Hills

East Garo Hills District was upgraded from a sub-division to a full-fledged district in 1976, after the erstwhile Garo Hills District was reorganised with a view to bring the administration closer to the people. In 2012 East Garo Hills District was further reorganised to form a new district out of the erstwhile Resubelpara Sub-Division. The District is bounded by South Garo Hills on the south, West Garo Hills on the west, West Khasi Hills on the east and North Garo Hills on the north.

The headquarter-complex, Williamnagar is a neatly planned township, christened after Captain Williamson A. Sangma, the first Chief Minister of the State of Meghalaya. Williamnagar now has all the amenities of a modern town and is the largest growth centre in Garo Hills, next to Tura.

This web portal is designed as an interface of the District Administration of East Garo Hills District, to disseminate information about the district to the public and as a step towards an administration that is more transparent and participatory in nature. We welcome your views and suggestions, please refer us to others and visit again. Thank you!

South West Garo Hills

In 1899 A.D. five families of Boldakgre converted to Christianity and Baptized by Dr. E.G. Phillips, American Baptist Missionary. After conversion finding difficulties to live among the non-Christian and facing hardships in jhum cultivation the five families of converts decided to leave Boldakgre once and for all. On learning that some uncultivated and uninhabited lands are lying under the A·king land of Dalbotpara and Chelipara they left their native place and came to settle under the Dalbotpara A·king land. The five families of converts are

Babang Marak Dongme G. Sangma
Ringran Sangma - Rimchi Sangma
Mibal Sangma - Sangre G. Sangma
Diron Marak - Okgil G. Sangma
Birin M. Marak - Nuchong Sangma

These five families were first settlers of present Ampati. They first settled near Daban Bheel beside the plate rock which is called "Ampatchi" meaning mat for drying paddy and from the word "Ampatchi" the place's name became "Ampati".

The five new settlers of Ampati excavated paddy fields near present Ampati (but living on the other side of the Daru river it is difficult for them to cross every now and then for tilling their lands. So they have started collecting materials and sites for construction of houses at present Ampati. At first Dinggan Gaakpa Nokma and Maharis of Chillipara refused to let them settle at their proposed place, and the materials like bamboo, log, etc. collected for construction of houses were destroyed by them. But by careful manipulation of Babang A. Marak, and repeated requests by others they were allowed to settle at present Ampati. Since then their descendants are settling at present Ampati.

South Garo Hills

The South Garo Hills district lies in the southern part of the state of Meghalaya, and was created on 18th June, 1992 . The district is hilly with difficult terrain with its headquarter at Baghmara, the only town in the district. The district is situated between 25°10’ and 25°35’N latitudes and 90°15 and 91°0’ E longitude. It covers an area of 1887 sq. Km. It is bounded in the North by East Garo Hills, in the East by the west Khasi Hills district, in the West by West Garo Hills district and in the South by Bangladesh.